Temporary Closure - COVID-19

Due to the declared state of emergency for Victoria and the current stage 3 restrictions the physical hackerspace is closed until further notice. In its place we are running a virtual hackerspace that is open for all (see listed times below in the calendar).

This closure also includes full time members beginning May 5th as we are unable to ensure the safety and usability of the equipment within the space. All members will be able to reuse the space once the restrictions have been lifted and resume our standard operating hours.

We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience and will announce on slack and other socials when there is any change. You can find more information of our initial closure on our blog.

Stay safe and May the 4th be with you all.

— 4 May 2020

Welcome

We are a non-profit community group dedicated to providing education and resources to encourage skills in science, technology, engineering, arts and mathematics (STEAM). The Ballarat Hackerspace provides tools, connections, community and other resources to help improve the skills of its members and the community, as well as encourage a culture of participating in technology advances, rather than passively using them.

We run regular workshops, community meetups, and encourage growth in the community in the broader Victorian goldfields region.

We are generally open for public walk-ins on Mondays, Tuesdays and Saturdays. Come in for a chat, participate in show and tell, share some knowledge, or just tinker on your own projects — no matter how BIG or small.

Finding Us

We are located on the Federation University SMB Campus (campus map, pdf). We're on the top floor of Building K (also the location of the Ballarat Tech School). Our main door is at the top of the stairs on the south side of that building (between Building K and Building I) or there is disabled access via the lift on the corner facing Albert Street. If you get lost trying to find us just send us a tweet and we'll send out a search party!

Calendar

Mon, 1 Jun
Making Mondays 6:00PM
Tue, 2 Jun
General Hacking 4:00PM
Wed, 3 Jun
Lunchtime Hacking 11:30AM
Sat, 6 Jun
Saturday's General Hacking 9:00AM
Mon, 8 Jun
Making Mondays 6:00PM
Tue, 9 Jun
General Hacking 4:00PM
Wed, 10 Jun
Lunchtime Hacking 11:30AM
Sat, 13 Jun
Saturday's General Hacking 9:00AM
Mon, 15 Jun
Making Mondays 6:00PM
Tue, 16 Jun
General Hacking 4:00PM
Wed, 17 Jun
Lunchtime Hacking 11:30AM
Sat, 20 Jun
Saturday's General Hacking 9:00AM
Mon, 22 Jun
Making Mondays 6:00PM
Tue, 23 Jun
General Hacking 4:00PM
Wed, 24 Jun
Lunchtime Hacking 11:30AM